The Definition of Hipster

I had no idea that the word ‘hipster’ was so uncommon outside of Montréal, but that’s what you get for living on Canadian ground zero. During my brief tenure in Trois-Pistoles, I was forced repeatedly to attempt to explain what exactly is signified by the label, derogatory or otherwise, but essentially all of my attempts were met with complete confusion. There were not any examples to point to (surprising, I know) in the huge city, so I was at a loss.

However, a friend of mine showed me a rather concise definition in the form of an amusing article, which I am now compelled to share with my two regular readers.

Adbusters

In particular, it highlights a concern that I’ve been having, on and off for the longest time. Namely, the relative lack of distinctly ‘new’ content that has been generated by our twenty -something culture. Look at all the ‘trendy’ places these folks are hanging out at, and you will see clothing and hear music that wouldn’t be out of place in 1987. I mean, seriously, it hasn’t even been two decades since this stuff was in, and it’s back already?

What will the millenials be wearing in twenty years? If high fashion really does have a twenty year cycle, then those sorry buggers will be wearing our recycled clothing from the eighties. Without the context of that decade, what will this mean for them?

As it is now, I don’t see any particularly compelling reason to believe that there is any meaning in hipster ‘culture’ as it is now. If those cynical jerks really are our counterculture.. then, well, that is profoundly sad.

~ by Andrew on June 17, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
