Two Steps Forward…

And a big step back for equality rights of Maine. It frankly pisses me off so much, that with all the strife and inequality in the world, the majority of bigoted jerks in Maine decided to tyrranize a minorty of people who have been fighting an uphill fight their whole lives for the same rights the majority of citizens have. Here’s an example of how proud the ‘winners’ are of how they successfully revoked their brothers and sisters rights to do exactly as they are allowed to do.

550000 dollars funded just from the Catholic Church. If you’re Catholic, and that doesn’t make you shamed and disgusted, well, then we have no words to share. However, I’m glad that  this was so close because it made those pathetic bigots sweat, and it shows them how their homophobic days are numbered. This is probably a demographic thing, as Pam has pointed out, young people are more likely to support equality, and as the outdated swine die off, the world can become a better place in their putrid wake. I also have a renewed pride in Canada, as well as all the places in the world that do allow equal marriage, but I wish that we weren’t so rare, and with this step, become a bit more exceptional.

~ by Andrew on November 5, 2009.

4 Responses to “Two Steps Forward…”

  1. Someone should remind that douchebag that not so long ago, interracial marriages were just as strongly opposed. Ask him how he feels about THAT.
    I feel happy about Canada having its head on straight when it comes to gay marriage (um, I have to leave that pun there, I’m sorry) but then I remember that people get killed in other countries on a daily basis for not being cisgendered, and then I am angry all over again.

  2. […] is of no concern to me, and anyone who disagrees is, at least in part, wrong. See some other posts on Gay Rights that I have put up on this blog. Also, for further reading, check out this post on religious […]

  3. […] is of no concern to me, and anyone who disagrees is, at least in part, wrong. See some other posts on Gay Rights that I have put up on the blog. Also, for further reading, check out this post on religious […]

  4. […] is inexcusable, so I have used my little blog here as a soapbox for gay rights again, and again, and again, and again, and again. In my experience, this hatred and fear of these people who just want to love […]

Leave a Reply

 
