Ann Coulter: Liberal?

According to Wing Nut Daily, Ann Coulter is far too liberal to speak at their ‘Take Back America’ conference. These differences in philosophy stem primarily from her “fight for same-sex marriage and gays in the military”, according to the organization.

As per usual, the crazies have assumed ‘guilt-by-association’ because of Ann’s upcoming talk at GOProud, a surprisingly non-contradictory gay republican group. WND seems to think that, since she speaks at the organization, she obviously endorses 100% of their viewpoints. Ann, undoubtedly in her best crazy cat-lady tone, replies:

That’s silly, I speak to a lot of groups and do not endorse them. I speak at Harvard and I certainly don’t endorse their views. I’ve spoken to Democratic groups and liberal Republican groups that loooove abortion. The main thing I do is speak on college campuses, which is about the equivalent of speaking at an al-Qaida conference. I’m sure I agree with GOProud more than I do with at least half of my college audiences. But in any event, giving a speech is not an endorsement of every position held by the people I’m speaking to. I was going to speak for you guys, I think you’re nuts on the birther thing (though I like you otherwise!)

I happen to agree with Ann’s right to speak freely, despite the fact that she mostly spews vomitous garbage. When she came to speak in Ottawa, (invited by a local group), a couple of idiotic punks prevented her from dumping her load. It was wrong to stop her speaking then, and it is now, but it’s the wingnut’s conference, and they can do what they want with it.  I really find amusing is the fact that Ann Coulter, who is so far right wing that she thinks all jews must be ‘perfected’ (or burn, I suppose), is too friendly towards TEH GAY for these crazies.

I believe it was Aristotle who said

It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it.

Indeed.

~ by Andrew on August 19, 2010.

6 Responses to “Ann Coulter: Liberal?”

  1. […] Ottawa: How Not to do Free Speech UPDATE: Ann Coulter Dropped from Conservative Conference! […]

  2. As a Republican myself, I can safely say that there are crazies on both sides of the fence. The people you mentioned are our version of Keith Olbermann.

    Personally, I don’t agree with gay marriage and that jazz, but I don’t think it’s the government’s job to enforce my personal preferences like many conservatives do.

    I’ve always been a fan of Coulter, and comments like that make me like her even more.

    • Keith Olbermann is the worst the Dems have got?
      Man. I think I’m crazier than Olbermann is.

      • I guess the SEIU or something like that would have been a better comparison to that conservative group, but I wasn’t thinking.

        My point is, both sides have groups that are equally annoying. We have “birthers” you guys have “truthers,” and unless somebody from one of those two groups is giving me a back rub, I have no use for them.

    • I must disagree with you, because I feel you are drawing a false equivalence between one extreme and the middle. I’m Canadian, and can tell you that the whole ‘left-right’ spectrum that exists in America is absurdly skewed to the right. Thus, the supposed leftist voices in the mainstream media (Olbermann, Maddow and Stewart) are really much closer to a political ‘neutral’ when measured by international standards.

      Olbermann is a particular favorite of mine. Even though his speech is sometimes hyperbolic, the man understands the core of American values, and eloquently defends them against his demagogic counterparts on the far right. His special commentary after the passing of Proposition 8 proved to be prophetic. 2 years before Judge Walker’s constitutionally based ruling, Keith had correctly grasped the crux of the issue that Walker would affirm.

      As for the ‘truthers’ we have on the left, the difference in this case is the truthers viewpoint is not given the level of amplification that right wing extremist have, provided by fox news. There is no Glenn Beck, Rush Limbaugh, or Ann Coulter on the left wing, and their political counterparts such as Sharron Angle could actually get elected. I’d also disagree that truthers are exlusively leftist, because their xenophobic nativism and paranoid anti-government conspiracies (OWG, death camps, implanted micro-chips) have robust support within the ranks of the tea-party and other fringe rightwing groups.

      Show me an out truther with a real chance at political office propped up uncritically by the left wing media (bonus if they are endorsed by the supposed ‘demagogues’ you claim) and I shall stand corrected.

  3. You gotta stop busting out that Playboy cover. It’s giving me the willies.

Leave a Reply

 
